Welcome and Introduction from Judy McFall, Chair of Governors

 On behalf of the Governing Body, I would like to welcome you to St Thomas and St Anne's CE Primary School, Hanwood.

Our aim is to provide a quality learning environment through "Caring, learning and growing together."

The Governing Body, strong leadership and energised staff of the school are all committed to support the children in achieving their best. I am proud to act as Chair for a school that has such a strong focus on its pupils.

Our school is an important part of the local community with lots of valued volunteers, close links to the church and many popular events put on by our active Home School Association (HSA).

The school has a welcoming and warm atmosphere, which is often commented on by visitors. We want every child to feel valued in whatever they do.

Whilst challenges exist in the current educational climate, it is schools like St Thomas and St Anne's which are able to adapt efffectively whilst maintaining strong values and commitment to providing the best quality of education, that will thrive.

I hope you will get the chance to visit our school and to meet our pupils, who will always speak from the heart!

Many thanks

Judy McFall

Chair of Governors  


The School Governors


"Children want to be respected, their views to be heard, to have stable relationships with professionals built on trust and for consistent support to be provided for their individual needs. This should guide the behaviour of professionals. Anyone working with children should see and speak to the child; listen to what they say, take their views seriously and work with them collaboratively when deciding how to support their needs."

 The governors have a range of duties, responsibilities and power authorised through various Education Acts. The main aim of the Governing Body is to maintain and improve the standard of education. The governors elected or appointed by various bodies, have a term of office for a four-year period. The partnership between pupils, staff, governors and parents is central to the success of the school.  Do take the opportunity to share any concerns, advice or suggestions you have regarding the work or life of the school.

All governors can be contacted via the school.

Please click on the link below for full details of the structure and remit of the Governing Body and Committees:

Governor Information 


St. Thomas & St. Anne's CE Primary School, Hanwood 

Voluntary Controlled 



Constitution as from November 2016
Co-opted 2
Foundation 2
Headteacher 1
Local Authority 1
Parent 2
Staff 1
Total required by Constitution 9














    Term of office end date 

Associate Members*

Mr Keith Packer

Mr Mike Nelson








Ms Nicky Parker


Co-opted Governors

Mr Roger Bebb

Mrs Judy McFall







Foundation Governors

Mrs Alison Bebb

Rev Graham Phillips





Miss Hannah McGrath


Local Authority Governor

Mr Roger Evans




Parent Governors

Mr Rob Birch 

Mrs Donna Richardson





Staff Governor

Miss Lucy George




Total number of current Governors 9